On the Processing of a Raw Photo

This post is a follow-up on my last post on upgrading to Photoshop CS6.  In that post, I covered upgrading to CS6 from Gimp and beginning to use raw capture.  I also mentioned how I took a few photos in raw+jpeg mode.  In this post and the next, I’ll cover how I process each type of photo.  First, I’ll cover how I’d handle the raw workflow of this particular photo.

In this first photo, I have everything on default at zero. Exposure, contrast, highlights, shadows, etc. White balance 3200K and tint +1, everything as it is right out of the camera.

In this second photo, I adjusted temperature to 2850, and tint to +9, to bring in the color of the light to look more “white”.

In this third photo, all I felt necessary to adjust for the tones was to bring exposure down to -0.10 and highlights down to -25.

In this fourth photo, I did a slight adjustment on the curves (lifting up on the right, pulling down on the left), a bit of sharpening, slight noise reduction, and removing some chromatic aberration.

In this fifth photo, my final adjustment is applying the lens correction, which includes removing distortion and vignette from around the edges.

As you can tell from these photos, there’s a big difference between the first and fifth, even if many of these changes are subtle, they do add up towards the result I’m after.  In my next post, I’ll cover the process of the jpeg version of this photo I got from raw+jpeg mode.

Leave a Reply

